It has been a very busy week. And it will get much busier. I start school at the end of this month. Two times a week: math! Let’s hope I am not biting too much!

At the end of this month, Cecilia, Elizabeth and I are going to attend an orientation meeting with Brightfuture4kids. Brightfuture4kids is the Orange County Child Abuse Prevention Center. They are a non-profit serving at risk children and families in crisis to prevent and break the generational cycle of child abuse. We hope to obtain great information to share with our community and most importantly, that we can volunteer our time to help the families and the children. We are looking forward to this and hope that our bears can play a role in the healing process of the victims being helped through Brighfuture4kids.

I have been doing research for local resource centers and have found great areas where we can participate. I hope to have an update of a new center when I post again.

Our first package from Doris arrived and has been prepped for their new homes. Labels with our “Embracing Hope” name have been ironed on and the poems have been sewn to the arms. She is currently working on the second package, which so far contains over 15 bears. With far more experience, she flies through the crocheting! I hope my numbers will begin to increase too.

We really want to make the awareness bracelets for the kids. Because we do not fundraise or accept cash donations, we only have out of our pocket money. So we are trying to open up some funds for these.

We are slowly getting there. 




Leave a Reply.